Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences

SLU (Sveriges Lantbruksuniversitet Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences) is a university with a clearly defined role in society: to take responsibility for the development of learning and expertise in areas concerning biological resources and biological production. This responsibility stretches over the wide-ranging fields of agriculture, forestry and food industry to environmental questions, veterinary medicine and biotechnology. A comprehensive viewpoint, inter-disciplinary approaches and applicability are keywords in SLUs research and teaching and in the contacts with industry and society.

University activities are spread between several departments in four faculties: the Faculty of Landscape Planning, Horticulture and Agricultural Science, the Faculty of Natural Resources and Agriculture Sciences, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Science and the Faculty of Forest Sciences. A total of 3,200 people are employed at the University.

SLU offers a broad spectrum of educational programmes and single subject courses. About 3,300 undergraduates and 800 postgraduate students are enrolled at SLU.
Main campuses are located at Alnarp, Skara, Ultuna and Umeå. Research and teaching activities are carried out throughout the country.